We are Facebook friends.  Your name is familiar to me, but I know not from where.  It must be art.  We have so many common friends; I looked.

It can be this way or not, but with some people being the aforementioned FB friends, you can get to know a lot about a person.  Especially if they talk about passions and interests.  Artists, of course are self-revealing.  It is their business to sort and create.

Glenn is having a hard time with the immediacy of Facebook, and I get that.  Only looking at it once in a while through me, even that much information is too much.  This week in South Carolina after the massacre in Charleston, I took to Facebook, hard.  We do not use television, so it provided some information.

There are some people who I have met briefly who have become my kindred souls on Facebook.  Lucy, Pat:  I know your faces, but I know what is going on under the visage much better.  Choose the right words for a passionate issue, and there you are in your true self for almost all to know.

So.  One of my favorite places is the Goodwill Clearance Center on Hwy 1 in Columbia.  It is the last place inventory from all the Goodwill stores in the area fluffs itself up to try be sold. The inventory sells by the pound there, and on Sunday, it is half price for a pound.  Books and things made of glass are cheaper per pound because they are heavy.  But don’t get me wrong, this stuff is not the worst of the worst from all the Goodwill stores.  It is stuff that just happened not to sell.  I bought a paint by number from the 50s/60s, framed and under glass for about a quarter.  Any collector of these would be proud to have it.  No flaws, perfect.

Two Sundays ago, the pickings were not so good for the special waste that is used in my sculptures.  But the book selection was fantastic.  Bought 8 heavy books, histories, biographies, my old algebra book from the 60s which I gave to my daughter.  They cost me in total $1.95.  Couldn’t even get to the car without dropping them, so bountiful.

IMG_20150626_170450488

Above is one of the books.  Copyrighted in 1957, I thought the compositions would be good to look at in thinking about sculpture, and they are mid-century interesting, but too vertical for me.  I am a square composer, maybe a little bit horizontal, but mostly square.  It is a great book, with hundreds of photos.

IMG_20150626_170511301 (1)

I need to sort and place things in the correct places.  Through FB, I know that Betsy is interested in this stuff.  Have to get this book in the right hands.  Hope she does not already own it.

Leave a Reply

