TEAM SOUTH CAROLINA

 

state flag

Above is the flag of the State of South Carolina.  It features a crescent moon and our beloved Palmetto tree.

pray-for-peace

Often our state flag is modified to make a point.  Its design lends itself to this kind of thing.  Credit to Gil Schuler Graphic Design (gilschulergraphicdesign.com).

A huge rebellion against the Confederate Battle Flag posted on the front grounds of our state house is brewing.  Again.  This is old news, of course.  One Republican governor recently occupied his office only for one term, and his support to take down the battle flag was a big part of his defeat.  Today, Saturday, the state house will be the site of two demonstrations.  At 1:30, a group organized under the idea of “let us vote” (for or against the idea of taking down the flag) and at 6 PM, a demonstration, as far as I can tell, sponsored by no one will demonstrate for taking the flag down.

flag

 

Above credit:  ABC7News.com

I think the taking down of the flag may be achieved this time.  But probably not without violence.  I lend my physical self to demonstration anytime I can.  It is a right, and a powerful feeling to be part of a mass that believes the way you do.  But these days, one has to think twice.  If this event has no sponsor, will there be security?  This week in South Carolina, although almost nothing is being spoken about other than the tragedy in Charleston, there is the dangerous fringe element, one of which now sits in jail.  Should we go?  Should I subject my family to this danger?  If nine people could be murdered in a church while studying the Bible, my choice seems like a no-brainer.

In the 80s during the beginning of the AIDS scare, I sent my children to daycare.  It was the right thing to do even though kids bite and blood could be exchanged.  Some here pulled their kids out. Not in favor of stigmatizing anyone, or acting like Chicken Little, we trusted that nothing would happen.  Nothing did.

If it weren’t for the guns that are everywhere, I would trust this time.  Can I?

4 thoughts on “TEAM SOUTH CAROLINA

  1. Good question. There is an on line petition to remove the flag. But I felt that it was not very thoughtfully worded so didn’t sign. Instead I wrote letters to my representatives requesting removal of the Confederate flag, support for a hate crime law in South Carolina, and support for gun control.

  2. Good for you! We ended up going to the rally. It was very safe and very positive. I think they have reserved the state house grounds for July 4 to keep the momentum going,

Leave a Reply

