I am of an age advanced beyond my youthful dreams.  This age could have easily not been achieved; a battle with colon cancer in my mid forties made life a little questionable for a few years.

In 1967 when the Beatles questioned the “needing” and “feeding” by the rhetorical “you”, none of us could not imagine this question of age: we had no empathy with that piece of art.

Sgt-Pepper2

But we hummed the jaunty song and went along to pile on the years.

When Paul McCartney turned 64 the irony of that song tugged at me.  How odd.  Years younger than Paul, that horizon was still lost on me.  What is that fallacious mathematical question which states if you cut a space in half between point A and point B and continue to cut the resulting space in half and in half, one will never arrive at point B? There you go.

I have been fading at this age, and it has been a total surprise.  It all started last October, but is ending today.  Don’t remember any past discussion about the body in this way, but hear me and do not favor one knee over another!  Always being accused of “thinking too much”, I have figured out why my meniscus snapped last October.  Short waisted, I had been sitting on that knee and propping myself up for 60 years.  It was the “go to” solution of not being tall enough.  Hate being not tall enough, for so many reasons! 1-lee

And there went my running basically until today.  From October until April.  And what else was lost because of not running?  Good heart rate, good blood pressure, good bone mass, good weight, good mental health.  Also, our roads were cluttered because I pick up aluminum cans.

Well, today with an ace bandage wrapped around the knee in question, I ate up three miles.  Would have gone the whole four if my aluminum find had not been so bulky.  The dark time is past!

440586_1

One thought on “A WARNING

  1. Oh Most Wonderful 64 Year Advanced Being!So good to read that you are running again, decluttering the arteries and stress pathways and cans,Feeling alive in ways full of healthyBeing as tall as you want to be propped by 64 years of just the right amount of thinking, great thinking, figuring out causes of our ailments mulitdimensional and creating signs to point us to them and to our solutions.I love you so much, Lee, the lovelee essence You as in the age of never old I have good news, too, from the Vancouver surgeon who came to Kelowna to meet patients and told me I don`t need more cancer surgery or chemo, couldn`t find evidence of the disease, and can get the hernia repair locally. She said it looks like I`m in remission, something the docs and Lee MacKay have said isn`t said until 5 yr. no recurrence. I loved that she was a she, seeming smart and caring and familiar with my case, and said that there`s a protocol for all women in BC with ovarian cancer, but that not all women are the same and I`m obviously unique. She seemed pleased not perplexed that I`m doing well. Yeah! Thanks so much for getting me off on the right foot, for getting me to be ready to go forth bravely with you as a miracle survivor, determined creator of your own healing! I think that all the birds, squirrels, bugs, and leaves and all are so happy that you`re running past.Many many hugs,M 250-505-4122 Date: Thu, 23 Apr 2015 15:53:58 +0000To: madelynmackay@hotmail.comFrom: comment-reply@wordpress.comSubject: [New post] A WARNING

    WordPress.com

    leemalerich posted: “I am of an age advanced beyond my youthful dreams. This age could have easily not been achieved; a battle with colon cancer in my mid forties made life a little questionable for a few years.

    In 1967 when the Beatles questioned the “needing” and “feedi”

Leave a Reply

