CREATIVITY OR OBSESSION?

My Ben is eleven months.  In the last almost a year, I have bought him more of one thing than anything else, by far.  Clothes or toys?  No.  They don’t last.  Ice cream?  He is too young for that.

Chairs.  I have bought him three chairs and am now making him one.  What is that about?

IMG_7547

My daughter has taken a picture of Ben with his turquoise chair for each of his eleven months.  It is a theme in the pictures, a sub-plot.

11018844_946318128713060_3486376878882355769_n

Stuff happens behind the chair, as here.  This chair was a shower gift.  To me, it is a beautiful and sweet piece of sculpture.  I fantasize about him being big enough to sit in it.

little metal chair

Last summer I bought this little metal outside chair.  It is sweet, but it would be perfect if it matched all the others around here.

aluminum chair

Have had no such luck with that.  Have never even seen a child’s 1940-50s metal lawn chair for sale, although I am sure they exist.

ben and rocker

Then I bought the old wooden rocker for him.  He knew exactly what to do with it.  The size is perfect.

Ben uses Gee’s sixty year old stroller when he is here.  It is not Ben’s however, it is a piece of sculpture located in our bedroom when not being used by him.

ben and stroller

Now I am making him a chair that he will never be able to use.  Dangerous.  Cannot figure out where this stuff comes from.

unnamed

One thought on “CREATIVITY OR OBSESSION?

  1. I suspect creativity and obsession go hand in hand down that path to the swap market. Though in your case Lee; I would say there is a lot of obsession there. That ‘s a good thing.

    Loved the article about chairs. If that airplane in the final chair needs a demented looking pilot I would be glad to carve a pilot head complete with leather cap and goggles. Send me an approximate size if you’re interested. Of course it will make the chair even more dangerous.

    Harry

    Sent from Windows Mail

Leave a Reply

