LAYERS

1-IMG_0795

It would be so easy to start with a blank canvas and create a work of art.  Many do.  I have to sneak in the back door and react to some product or pattern made by another and then make it my own.

1-IMG_0798

What interests me is the spaces between things, how they relate or how they merge.

1-IMG_0802

This sculpture is very new for me.  I have always respected artists who make statements in a thinly orchestrated way.  These are the beginning of my effort to do that.

1-IMG_0289

The work above is more what one would expect from me, but looser and including no female figures.  There are those damn eggs though.  Here I am trying to use a very anal method to create an atmosphere.  I use color and value to position shapes in their correct space.  Some wool is used to contrast in texture.  Two elements,  printed fabric and stitches are layered together to arrive at a visual statement.

1-IMG_0267

The same is true in the above.  These works contain only machine stitches on the surface, and they are simply decorative.  The piece was made by merging very different fabrics physically together with a special machine, strangely called an “embellisher”.

pocket gallery

I am going to talk about all this stuff on Tuesday, March 18, and bring some works in progress.  Hope to see you there.

3 thoughts on “LAYERS

Leave a Reply

