ORANGE COLORED GLASSES

The orange vases were so pretty this morning with the sun shining in. This group makes up one of my most long standing collections.  Not flighty and quickly collected, this.  Most every one has a story.  At first, I hated them.  The base of the collection came home in a group with some other colors, but mostly orange.  The other-colored vases migrated to friends.  Influenced by a book I once read about Busby Berkeley and his dancers, I kept buying the orange ones and lining them up like soldiers, the way Busby did with dancers.

It seems as though there were many glass factories spotted up and down the Ohio River, just as there were art potteries like Roseville and Haeger.  Viking was one of them, and (knowing almost nothing about this stuff) I associate Viking the most with these stretched out vases.

1-vases one

The tallest vase in this group stands 36″.  It was not one of the original orange group.  My sister paid one dollar for it at a garage sale many years ago, it was for me, but it took maybe a decade for me to wring it from her!  Have never seen one so big.

The vase to the left of the tall one I paid 15 dollars for, from the husband of the woman selling it.  He was sick of wrapping the thing up every weekend at the flea market.  I had been watching it for a while, but did not want to pay her price.  It is interesting in the similar to cut glass pattern at the bottom.

1-vase details

1-vases 2

This kitchen window is perpendicular to the first.  There are eight vases in total in residence in this window.   The most unusual one is second from the right.  Having paid a dollar for it at a market in Columbia, a man stopped me and asked to look at it.

1-unusual vase

The glass is thinner than most, features kind of a pinched pattern on its body, and has a rough broken off edge within the base called a pontil, which is a remnant of the piece’s disconnection with the raw glass after blowing and stretching.

pontil

Unlike most of my other collections, the glass here is all perfect.  Scratches on a metal glider, rust?  Hell, yeah!  But cracks in glass, no.  That imperfection destroys the whole thing.  The value seeps out of the crack like a hole in a bucket.

4 thoughts on “ORANGE COLORED GLASSES

  1. I never know what I will find when I open your blog. Thank you for always letting me breathe a little of your always refreshing air.

  2. I’ve always loved that luminous collection of orange glass and had included it in the background of one of my paintings years ago when it was a smaller collection. This week, I’ve been painting a collection of imaginary bottles stamped with ancient language. Just as with the real bottles, once you’ve collected more than one you just have to keep going until you have a set of them.

    1. I read the last two entries of your blog about those bottles! I think when we collect, we respond to pattern. Or numbers. Does more of something make it better?

      In which painting were the bottles? A small square?

Leave a Reply

