HEALTH RULES; WE WIN THIS TIME

So it is difficult to stay in the Middle Class these days, although through Paul Fussell‘s definition, I am an “X”.  Love that.   Read his book, “Class”.  Sometimes it seems like the 99% are trying to kill us off so we won’t mate and create more useless “unconnected persons”.  This American family is arguing, arguing, and it feels like we are at the wrong age at the wrong time.

Having recently won a battle over the healthcare of a disabled child, we are definitely on an upswing.  Spending retirement money on his anger episodes, including violence to us, seemed unfair.  Or, we almost had to.  Karma swept in and we had applied for  TEFRA Medicaid just within the correct time period (we had no idea) where the government took care of $12,000 of emergency room bills for a violent child (two visits) retroactively.  And we recently got a pair of glasses for him at no charge (only a few frame choices were available).  But that is ok.  It is absolutely amazing to have this help.

I assume all know about the deep, textural, heavily layered health care argument.  It is my belief that if we were a single-payer country, and all could actually HAVE healthcare, it would be good for all of us.  Problems could be headed off at the pass, expenses would be less for all.  People would be healthy and could work.

The unbelievable realization came to me last night at a fundraiser, that a friend who recently died of colon cancer had been a Christian Scientist, the ultimate opposite of head-it-off-at-the-pass healthcare.  This fact displays one of the varied objections to universal healthcare.  It seems we also disagree as to what type of care is appropriate for those problems.

In recent times in this country, there were health problems that were deemed by (some evil genius) to be “real” problems needing coverage, and those that were not; as in eyes, ears, teeth.  And mental health.  Sure some policies are getting better in these respects, but at the other end of the scale, more and more people do not have insurance at all, or have simple bare bones coverage, where there is no provision for these johnny-come-lately “real” health problems.

I have never had that kind of coverage.  Bought my last pair of contact lenses after an eye check in late 2010.  Almost three years ago.  Lost one two nights ago, and we looked for it in the evening, and then the next morning.  Tried to get my prescription from the provider, and was told it was illegal to give it to me.  It was older than a year.  I was a hostage.  Who does this benefit?  Follow the money.  In my sixth decade, my eyes are not changing.  I could see these rules for a child, or even when we get to be forty-something and the almost automatic far-sightedness kicks in.  But now, for me, prepare to dig down and spend 400 dollars for an appointment and new hard contacts.  Not fair.

We won again.  The next morning, after sleeping all night with that damn lens clinging to me somewhere, I went to our bathroom to get a towel and then use the outdoor shower.  Came in, returned the towel to its antler, looked down on the white tile floor and saw my blue orb.

I WON!  Now we can spend that 400 bucks on food or something.

2 thoughts on “HEALTH RULES; WE WIN THIS TIME

  1. So with you on this one. It amazes me why people fight ‘socialized’ heathcare. It’s good enough for the elected leaders, but not for the masses. Hummm…what’s wrong with this picture? Being self employed for my whole life and paying tremendous amounts in insurance premiums for limited care – I can tell you I would take any countries’ single payer system over what we have.

Leave a Reply

