LESSONS FOR THE YOUNG ARTIST

Which have been remembered, but not implemented.  Same old story.

We were a Girl Scout troop, and my mother, the artist, was the leader.  There was an art competition.  My mother saw something in me.  One of the things remembered from my childhood, where there was not unlimited money, there was always money for art supplies.  Not sure if my sisters ever took advantage of this loophole.  I am thinking not.

The entire troop entered drawings or paintings into the GS competition.  Cannot remember why I was unhappy about this, but I was.  Having done a charcoal drawing named “Fuzzy and Friends” featuring our cat nursing her babies, I had lost interest and didn’t want to finish the thing.

fuzzy and friends

The drawing looked a lot like this photo; the position of Fuzzy, and the arrangement of the nursing kittens.  It also looked like this photo because there is no context for the group.  The family on the gray carpet is kind of suspended and unattached to any reality.  My drawing also looked like this.

Being forced to finish, and being a stupid kid, it is as clear as yesterday.  I drew in a horizon line about mid-paper, and then zig-zagged a loose line around what was supposed to be identified as the floor.  Then I smudged it with a stump, so the lines would be less distinct.  Done.

That’s the way it stayed, and was entered into the competition.  It won an honorable mention.  The commentary on it?  The judge said it was very good, but it looked unfinished!

That was not the only lesson learned here.  A friend, Janet XXXX also entered.  She did a gouache.  It was of two wild birds interacting.  It won first place.

birds

Her design looked similar to the one above.  It wasn’t quite as complex.  Looking at the entry, it was familiar to me.  We’d had a meal at her house before;  I remember the dining room even now.   And the design of her entry was on every plate used at the meal!  Oh the unfairness of it all!  And come to think of it, learning stuff like this is probably why scouting was good for me.

2 thoughts on “LESSONS FOR THE YOUNG ARTIST

  1. There are always lots of lessons to learn in the art world – with or without judges and competition.
    Great essay.

Leave a Reply

