CAN AN OLD DOG LEARN NEW TRICKS?

And what exactly ARE the new tricks?

Flo, my daughter's child, sniffing out some new information.
Flo, my daughter’s child, sniffing out some new information.

I started writing here about a year ago because my husband was interested in laying out some money for a web site.  Wondering if that could be created here (it wasn’t), and living in the world where a presence on the web seems to be totally necessary, I kept writing.  The writing got broad, not just about his art or about my art, but about the environment in which we make art.

Mostly my friends read this, and I love that.  Some others have become friends.  My daughter, a food blogger just went to Atlanta last weekend for two days to spend time with other food blogging friends that she has come to know.  It is huge to find fellow travelers from an almost unlimited pool.  We could not do these things years ago.  I love that.

So, I must admit to being a baby boomer.  My brain is not wired like the brain of my millennial daughter.  But I see stuff and hear stuff.  Just listened to two interviews on NPR praising mentoring, social networking, HAVING A PRESENCE ON THE WEB, yadda, yadda.  Sometimes I tell my daughter that this seems like  a house of cards.

In regards to trying to get more viewers to my blog, the most often repeated advice is to visit other blogs and comment.  I have looked at posts with all kinds of advertising up the side, with a grid at the bottom saying “400 bloggers like this post”, and the post is ONE picture of something.  What does that mean?

Does it mean that this person long ago has established so much credibility on her subject that this one picture represents her expertise in this field, and all these 400 people need to do is see it to become inspired?  I don’t have the time to do the front end research to figure that out.  Or does it mean that these 400 bloggers know that all you have to do is “like” something, and they will “like” you back and that is how business is done?  What business?  Does the emperor have clothes?

Or are we boomers not streamlined enough?  I want to create content, but I am not sure that content is what blogging is about for many.  What IS it about?

I can safely say that I have not earned one penny with my art in this last year that had anything to do with my presence on the web.  Nor has my husband, and of course, we both have earned money.  Why do I need a presence on it then?

Most of the blogged things on the web are so superficial.  Experts tell businesses that they need to be “liked” on Facebook.  I get that—your messages go out to people who “like” you.  Or it used to be that way.  Now I am not sure.  Facebook has changed.

I watched an acquaintance, a person who I have done business with, who is a friend on Facebook, make an attempt to keep her business going and perhaps transition to this new norm.  I have not spoken with her about this, these are my observances through Facebook interaction.

I believe that she had a primary goal of getting 500 people to” like” her.  She wrote about her business, the philosophy of her business, the origins of this type of business.  All very interesting to me. I loved reading her thoughts.  After a while, I thought maybe Facebook was not the correct venue for this.  She should be blogging.

She made many appeals to be “liked” for her business over several months.  She also began talking also about acting, her childhood memories.  Lots of stuff I thought very interesting.  Once she talked about why she loved getting up and going to work every morning.

And then BAMMM!  Business closed, building for sale or rent.  What happened?  How did I miss this?

What I mean to say is:  is content and wanting to write 500 words too much?  Is it too personal?  Is it navel gazing?  What am I not getting here?  Any comments would be appreciated!

Another person follows me that I wonder about.  He is a writer.  He has been following me for a while.  I think he said once that he was born in 1990. He gives advice to bloggers and self-publishes books.  He facilitates amazing conversations at the ends of his posts where many contribute.  He says to “like” and make pertinent comments on blogs.  He says to blog for a year before you judge yourself.   He has even found his way to a small second blog that I created which is simply pictures of my art.  How did he find that space?  Does he “like” the whole world, and through examining that set, manage to get a number of ardent followers?

If anybody can enlighten or add information, please do.

4 thoughts on “CAN AN OLD DOG LEARN NEW TRICKS?

  1. Presence on the web is indeed overrated. I was on Facebook for a while but it did virtually nothing to increase my business revenue. I concluded that it was basically a time sink so got off it. I have blogged with content and found some advantages here, mostly from art and literary scholars writing about my work. It resulted in publications but only minor sales from art. So keep blogging with content. The right people notice.

  2. For me, I blog for myself as much as I blog for the anonymous readers out there. You are creating your history for yourself and documenting your progress. When you blog for yourself and it is solid and truthful, the followers will come. And if the followers never come, that’s okay because you weren’t blogging for them in the first place 🙂

Leave a Reply

