WHERE AM I?

Where have I been?  Where are the results of my creativity?  Where is the progress on the shower, the brickwork, the gardens?  Why am I not writing?

I have been down the black hole of technology, smacking down my long time personal demon, one that has never been extinguished because it changes all the time:  photography.  Well not technically “smacking down” this devil,  maybe, punching it into some kind of temporary shape.  After squeezing out a serviceable photo or two, my old lame inability leaps over me like that huge ephemeral genie out of the tiny vessel ( or camera)  and  fills like smoke all niches of this old farmhouse.  And I run screaming into the sunset.

Ah, bane of my existence, itch that I cannot scratch, in recent years you have gained equally surly partners: commands that make no sense, forms I cannot fill out. CDs that don’t burn, and are they like DVDs?  One can make an argument that if you cannot photograph your work, you might as well not make it.  And if you are not present and able on the web, well you can just forget it.

Do you have an on line presence where I can see your work?  Such a simple question!  NOOOOO, all my work looks like crap on line.  It is either too big or too small to photograph well.  What is wrong with me?

There is an opportunity for me here in nearby Columbia.  The city wants a mosaic.  It is a perfect surface, and an idea came to me.  For the past couple of weeks, the idea has been transferred to physical form, and then the government application had to be filled out.  On line.  Baahh.

1-garage

Here is the space all 16′ by almost 9′ of it.  Virgin cinder block, perfect.  This is why I was working so hard.

The submission is complete, done, out of my hands and into theirs.

In the middle of all this work, another almost lost commission has been taken off the back burner and will happen after Christmas.

1-IMG_3861

1-1-manning 5

Look at this horrible photography!  These drawings are for a chapel in a hospital in a small town going towards the beach from here.  The mosaic will be 8′ x 4′, with the arched line at the top.  The resulting image will be a cross between these two drawings.  Yes, cypress swamp.

5 thoughts on “WHERE AM I?

  1. Hey, now…it just wouldn’t be fair if you could do everything perfectly! And it’s not horrible…just get a different camera…one that will just know what you want!

  2. Congrats on the commissions (I’m assuming you’ll get the one for the City too)! Sorry, I can’ help you with the photography but let me know if you find a camera like the one Anonymous described!

  3. I wonder if I can help with the photography. Not that I can photograph all your stuff, but I can teach you a little more about the settings on your camera, or on Glenn’s camera. Taking a nice picture of food is sort of like taking a nice picture of art – have to capture all the textures, et.c

  4. bookpeeps, branny, and anonymous, i am on the way to solving (i hope) this problem. glenn noticed that on his good camera, the (pixels or whatever per square inch??) could be increased by 100 percent. going to try and shoot today. fine people!

Leave a Reply

