PRESERVING THE SURFACES OF OLD LAWN CHAIRS

The chair on the left has been clear coated with very strong and very expensive hazardous polymer.  I waited a long time for a quart of this, and it arrived with special devices on the cap to assure that it would not open in delivery, and special warnings about flammability and application.

I bought these chairs and glider a couple of weeks ago, and the rust patterns were so fine.  It is their old design and look of use that draws me to these.  Most of my gliders and chairs look like this, but most are on porches with roofs.  Wanting to put this group outside in the new garden, I finally did some research and found a product that would allow this with hopefully no more rusting.

My husband belongs to an old truck club and gets a monthly magazine, and on the front one time was this same kind of surface on a restored truck.  The truck of course was in working order, and the surface was saved to show its history.  We have all heard this kind of advice from the experts on “Antiques Roadshow” and the like.

I scraped off all the loose rust on these chairs.  Often, the nuts and bolts have been painted over at least once, and care must be taken to pry all that out.  I used a wood chisel, and my husband feels I should ask forgiveness from the universe for using this tool in this application.  Amen.

This product cost $44 for a quart. Buy it at an auto paint store.  Let me give you the benefit of my mistake.  You must use all of this quart at the same time.  It is valuable, clear, workable and fine when first opened.  I used half of this intending to use the rest the next day.  Not so easy.  By the time I set to work again, even with careful hammering of the lid back on the can after the first use, the substance was already marching towards solidity.  I spread what could be spread, and then had to trash the rest, which killed me.

For the forty four dollars, and being lazy, I got five chairs finished totally, and parts of two more.  Next time I will have an abundance of chairs ready for treatment.

The above chairs got the new surface.  They are exactly the same chair as the one on the left below. These three are also  now clear coated.  The chair on the right has an aluminum body, and features many layers of paint.  I experimented with creating lines in various places revealing layers of paint underneath.  The surface of the chair now looks like a drawing.

Below is a detail of the chair on the left above.  The same original color is seen peeking out between areas of rust.

3 thoughts on “PRESERVING THE SURFACES OF OLD LAWN CHAIRS

  1. Well I am sure it will do a beautiful job in the preservation but I could feel my stomach knot when I both saw the price and the unfortunate fact that so much had to be tossed. There should have been warnings about THAT rather than flammability!

Leave a Reply

