BLAME IT ON ARLO

For years, and it may be true even to this day but I cannot say for sure, Arlo Guthrie and Pete Seeger, with friends and family have performed the Friday after Thanksgiving at Carnegie Hall.  We discovered this one year when in NYC for the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade.  Trolling around for something to do, we got two singles way up in space the day of the performance.  The kids were left to responsibly take care of themselves at the Marriott Marquis, and they loved the independence.


This image is from 1995, and it very well might be the year that we were there.  My husband left early; he could not stand the heat in the “ceiling” where we were seated.  I was in a world all of my own.  Being in New York, alone for a while, and listening to the music and ideas of the sixties was almost too much for me.  I was overwhelmed by my youth, and wondered how some of us had moved so far away from where we were then.  It was a night to remember.

Often, I take a personal oath that we will be there again this (or that) Thanksgiving, wanting to share this experience with everybody.  Somehow it just has not happened again.  No one to blame but myself.

So last weekend Arlo was on Prairie Home Companion.  I was in the pool, cooling off and listening.  When Arlo plays  “City of New Orleans”, all that old blood from what?  1969? 1970? starts rushing through my veins.  I feel like I can whip the world.  I get ideas.  I get stimulated.

So what do I do with all that creative energy?  Start laying tile.  I know, this is a really crazy response.  “Laying tile” is probably not the correct way to state it.  My response to important stimulus is to make art.  Right now, for me making art is about laying tile.

Above are the two sides to the entrance to the pool area, one before Arlo started singing last Saturday night, and one after.  Now this is a pretty good response to “art”.  Create.  But look at the size of this job!  All the tile work you see on the wall was finished last year, and it took many years to complete.  Basically, what is now being done is the deck around the pool.

What I am doing is taking the composition from the wall, which incorporates lots of different ideas as I essentially used the wall around the pool as a sketchbook.  Now, to unify the whole thing, I am repeating the basic elements in the wall on the deck but using the complementary colors.  Look at what a dead horrible space that cement was when viewed next to the wall.  Everything looks much better without that space, even with only  these first patches of  tile work.

This morning, while taking pictures for this post, my husband said “Now don’t you wish you were forty?” referring to the amount of work that I have gotten myself into.  Yeah.  How many reasons can I come up with to wish I were forty again?

One thought on “BLAME IT ON ARLO

  1. You didn’t have your current (fabulous) husband when you were 40 – you also had to care for a 5 y/o and a 7 y/o. I think your current age suits you better.

Leave a Reply

