A CHALLENGE

WHY IS EVERYTHING SO DIFFICULT?  No exaggeration,  there are five topics in my head that could be written about here.  These days, it takes more than an hour to send a picture from the library on my phone to my email address so I can use them.  People are finally reading this blog, and nothing has been published for a week or more.

My challenge:  Write a post dealing with a single topic which can be illustrated with pics already available to use.   This feels like doing a commissioned work rather than one of my own choice.  As artists, we have to be ready to do both and be happy about it.  Here goes!

The image above shows a “frieze” done last summer.  When thinking of the most heat personally ever experienced,  those weeks working at over eight feet,  triple digits outside, sun pouring in,  is my high mark.

Here is the other side of the frieze.  It migrates around three walls of this sun room.  The frieze incorporates important elements in the lives and the interests of the family who commissioned the work.  The family is full of the out of doors, and especially interested in North American Indians and the Boy Scouts.  It was easy to make this work reflect their interests, and I learned a lot doing this job.

This detail features a bear (the arrow within the bear represents its “life force”) and a stylized Boy Scout symbol.  Looking at it now, and considering my recent topics, does it not look a little like it comes from the same place as Leonardo’s “Vitruvian Man”?  I love it when synchronicity hits me with one detail over and over.  It feels like a real truth has been discovered.

Here is a stylized representation of the family, with the universal spiral behind them, and another equilateral triangle made out of arrows.  The nails of a bear’s claw adds detail to the upper left.

A fleur de lis was found on each of two broken old pots ready to be pitched.  They provided another symbol for the scouts for the frieze.  It worked perfectly in the piece and lady of the family had no trouble taking a pick axe to the pots, isolating the shapes, painting the high points, and rubbing dark paint into the remaining lines.  Took her 15 minutes.  I was gobsmacked!

A number of slides (used by the scouts for keeping a scarf around their neck) are spotted around this area of the piece.  I broke some of them so they look “approximated” rather than totally intact.  The same idea is used in the fleur de lis.

This piece is the first  in which real ceramic birds (top of frieze, head pointed down) were installed;  simple flea market stuff.  Now, I am making long and lean sculptures, impossible to photograph, which feature masses of birds crawling all over.  There’s that synchronicity again.  Until now, the fact that there were birds in this piece was forgotten to me.

Just to get back to where this little story started, do you think I could pull images of this piece off a flashdrive to show new customers yesterday?    Of course not.

2 thoughts on “A CHALLENGE

  1. Thanks Wai-Yuk, you are the textile artist right? This work actually moves along much faster than my textiles. With it, I was stitching my life away in small spaces. At least with mosaic, I can create big works people can actually SEE!

Leave a Reply

