MORE NOT GLIDERS

More people read my entry about gliders than any other (see I LOVE GLIDERS) and addicted to eyeballs as I am now, there is plenty more about gliders that we can talk about.

But my worlds are colliding.  Looking at my last post about the surprise anniversary gift purchased (AQUA DAY AT THE LOCAL FLEA), by the Sunday after the purchase, I was wondering why the hell I bought a baby stroller for a man!  Wallowing in self-doubt, I told myself that he loves FENDERS, tools of all kinds, old stuff in general.  The thing cleaned up nicely by the way, and Glenn even came home with a picture of himself in one of these, although it was a Chevrolet to my Caddie.  Glenn will tell you himself that he is a Chevy guy.

I don’t think any of my lifetime of gifts has been more appreciated!  I was so happy at his excitement, his actions (jumping on ebay to find similar ones, pulling out his childhood pic, our discussion about it).  It was then, during this discussion, and our finding comparables on the web, and that the same company made many of these, on many price point levels and styles, that I could see that these carriages also conform to my theory about means of transportation following the predominant style of transportation of the day (at the beginning, cars looked like horse drawn carriages, then trains, then planes).

Here is our new one all cleaned up.  I am now making the assumption that if a person likes old gliders, they are going to like old strollers.  Both are made of the same material, they have stamping on the sides or back, they move, they have different positions you can choose.  Of course, strollers can have fenders, and gliders do not.  That is a big minus for a glider.  Glenn is a sculptor who works  in metal.  I have two partial gliders that I want merged, and cannot do it myself.  I think the result would be soooooo fine, and I know we could work in some fenders.  Should I learn to weld?

What makes me think this stroller is older than some of them that I see on ebay is the plane that the toddler’s back rests on.  It moves up and down, and the normal position is straight up, just like the green glider on my older post.  When we get into the 40s and 50s and sultry deco lines take over, the strollers by the company reflect that.

Looking at ebay today, I found two strollers like ours, but with a more modern seat.  The newer ones are not straight up and down;  they consist of  one bent plane with each side connecting to the tray where the play beads are.

I haven’t seen one just like ours, and this one has been painted differently (sorry for the quality of the picture).  Here is another paint job, but still the seat is a wrap-around one.

Isn’t this one fine?   The next picture is Glenn and his mom,  in the height of the baby boom.  Look at those houses! This has to be the winter of 1952 in Ferguson, Missouri.   Still the curved seat with much less wood used on the stroller.

The company name for these strollers is BABY TAYLOR TOT.

Finishing up the metal furniture on my front porch, here are two nice metal single chairs, like gliders, one with an unusual flower pattern.

4 thoughts on “MORE NOT GLIDERS

  1. Lee, you must learn to weld, tack weld and shape metal…woo HOOO !
    If you place fenders on a glider will you have indented places to set a can of pop? Or a recessed beer can holder? Some very old cars had recessed holed in one of the front fenders for a spare tire. Keep up the blogging. Your writing is fun to read and educational to boot.

Leave a Reply

